Valuable, Beautiful, Wonderful

I love David Attenborough.  It is true!  I love the fact he is such an enthusiastic, talented and interesting wildlife documentary presenter and is so passionate about the conservation and preservation of the natural world.  With the celebration of his 88th birthday last Thursday, people around the globe shared their admiration for him too.

This clip is great!

Or for something a bit more serious, this is also.

 

place of amazement

defend

 

Maybe it’s from growing up in the countryside, but nature, for me, is important and amazing and I agree that humans globally have a role to play in protecting and conserving it, however big or small.

Anyway, Sir David Att probably could have done a documentary on me last week, as nature made many appearances in my life.  There was wine outside, walks outside and the sighting of chickens in the middle of my local town (only in Norfolk!).

This wine was gooood!  Marks and Sparks Sauvignon from Stellenbosch, which  transported me right back (nearly) to South Africa :).  Not only is it “thrillingly intense with pure goosberry and grapefruit flavours“, according to one review, but the wine farm it comes from is accredited by various social responsibility initiatives, relating to fair trade and environmental sustainability.

IMG_2812

And this was the start of a lovely route by the River Waveney in Norfolk.  Apparently you can swim here; come Summer I SHALL be back.

IMG_2753

Unfortunately to reach the river it was necessary to cross a field of cows.  They may look placid and unthreatening, but really, could they not herd together and charge at any moment?! I decided a slow calm walk with no cow eye contact was the best way to make it through safely, which worked out nicely.

IMG_2756

After that it was a relaxing and enjoyable walk.

IMG_2766

Found my future car.  Actually, no, but I do have some car related truths…I passed my driving theory test the other week 🙂 hooray, and the “BBC News In Pictures” chose one of Daniels photographs from our Africa trip, for their theme this week – “on the road

Here’s the fantastic snap. Go Daniel!

Namibia